JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Megabyte117 (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Japanese people don't know more than 500? - 08-29-2009, 07:58 PM

Well, I honestly don't know what to think after I saw this video: YouTube - Zeplin in Tokyo - 18 - Kanji

I've watched some of his other videos and they weren't that bad. But in this one, he claims that most Japanese know 500 Kanji and that the stress of learning 50,000 kanji is a flaw in their society.

... What do you all think?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Orochitachi (Offline)
JF Regular

Send a message via AIM to Orochitachi Send a message via MSN to Orochitachi
08-29-2009, 08:09 PM

I dont know anything about kani since i'm new to this; but Japanese people cant possible only know 500... beside's it their language. A friend once told me he had to learn 4000 Kanji.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
yuriyuri (Offline)
JF Old Timer

08-29-2009, 08:15 PM

I think he failed at getting any real point across in this video.
I certainly couldn't grasp what he was trying to say, and he seems to be wondering why everybody is calling him out on what he is saying.

When he mentioned the 50,000 kanji thing I lost all hope of hearing anything worthwhile, but I thought I would just carry on watching to see what he had to say anyway.
But then at about 2:00 in he mentioned that his 'ex' only knew 500 kanji, but was a uni student...

I'm sorry... but it sounds like this guy has no clue.
Does he really think it would be possible for his 'ex' to study at uni only knowing 500 kanji?
(#4 (permalink))
Old
Orochitachi (Offline)
JF Regular

Send a message via AIM to Orochitachi Send a message via MSN to Orochitachi
08-29-2009, 08:19 PM

maybe he's anti-Japan lol

XD
(#5 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

08-29-2009, 08:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megabyte117 View Post
Well, I honestly don't know what to think after I saw this video: YouTube - Zeplin in Tokyo - 18 - Kanji