JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
charizardpal (Offline)
New to JF

食べさせられられる? - 10-22-2009, 09:44 PM

Hi I'm a student of Japanese and I had a quick question--is it grammatical to conjugate taberu (to eat) as "食べさせられられた?" (Tabe-sase-rare-rareta?) Would that mean, '(someone or something) made him able to eat?'

ほんとうにありがとう
(#2 (permalink))
Old
KyleGoetz (Offline)
Attorney at Flaw

10-22-2009, 10:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by charizardpal View Post
Hi I'm a student of Japanese and I had a quick question--is it grammatical to conjugate taberu (to eat) as "食べさせられられた?" (Tabe-sase-rare-rareta?) Would that mean, '(someone or something) made him able to eat?'

ほんとうにありがとう
Google shows only four occurrences of that phrase on the entire Internet. One is this thread, one is a page saying "I've never heard of 食べさせられられた," one says something like "学生時代ウンコを食べさせられられた" (I was allowed/forced to be able to eat shit in my student years), and I didn't bother looking at the fourth.

I'm going to say: no.

After all, "make him able to eat" is just an inartful way of "permit him to eat," which would just be 食べさせる.

Google: "食べさせられられた" - Google Search

It's amazing that people never realize "I wonder if this word exists. I should do a Google search to see if people are using it!"

I did come across an interesting paper: Powered by Google Docs

“Morpheme Insertions in Japanese Causative and Potential Expressions”

It's just an observation about how there are a number of instances on the Internet of people doing stuff like たべさせサセる and 使えレる. Basically, adding extra morphemes that need not be there (and technically are incorrect, but people do it for a variety of reasons that aren't always just typos).

Quote:
Morpheme reduplications have not been acceptable in Japanese even in cases of double
causative constructions (“A had B make C do ~”), where only one causative morpheme