JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Harumaki (Offline)
JF Regular

For all not native Japanese speakers! - 12-01-2009, 06:56 AM

Hey guys,

I'm currently in my 4th year studying Japanese and Japanese culture on the university of Leiden. I'm engaged with a Japanese girl and speaking only Japanese at home at the moment.

The reason I make this thread is, because I am interested in hearing/reading the experience of other non-Japanese who learned this awesome language.

Well, my experience:
Since I am in my 4th year and using it every day, I became pretty font of the language itself. Words I didnt hear before can be understood and grammatical constructions are almost all seen at least one time before, so my language skills are almost fluently.

BUT, come on, xD Japanese is soooooooo hard to learn! It has so many synonyms and homonyms, it makes me wanna cry of frustration sometimes
There are soooo many ways to say something in a different way, unbelievable! But maybe it is the level of difficulty to reach a fluent level which makes it attractive to me

How did you experience it? Tell me about your hardships of learning Japanese! aka Mission Almost Impossible!

Thanks in advance for reading and replieing <3

I'm single because my parents-in-law don't have kids
(#2 (permalink))
Old
chryuop (Offline)
JF Old Timer

12-02-2009, 04:38 PM

Let me see if I well understood. You have been studying Japanese for 4 years and have a full immersion experience with your girlfriend. Man, what else you wanna know from others? You got the perfect situation to learn Japanese.

降り注ぐ雨 マジで冷てぇ
暗闇の中 歩くしかねぇ
everything’s gonna be okay 恐れることねぇ
辛い時こそ胸を張れ
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Columbine (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

12-02-2009, 04:48 PM

I think the OP is just asking how other people find the experience of learning a difficult language.