JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
ShinJon (Offline)
New to JF

Newbie at Japanese - 10-19-2010, 09:40 PM

I am new to Japanese, the cool language.

I have done several researches on the language. I have realized that there are 3 or 4 systems that Japanese have. They are hiragana, kanji, katakana and romanji. I may be wrong but correct me if you must.

As of the fact, I just wanted to ask that which system is the first thing to study and memorize from Japanese? Let me know, thanks!
(#2 (permalink))
Old
diego187 (Offline)
JF Regular

Send a message via MSN to diego187
10-19-2010, 09:49 PM

Forget about romanji.

Learn first Hiragana, then Katakana and then Kanji.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
ShinJon (Offline)
New to JF

10-19-2010, 09:54 PM

Alright, I'm on to do that

Which system is used the most?
(#4 (permalink))
Old
BakaTensei (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Send a message via MSN to BakaTensei
10-19-2010, 09:58 PM

they are all used together but lucky beside most kanji there is hiragana for readers who are unfamiliar with it
(#5 (permalink))
Old
ShinJon (Offline)
New to JF

10-19-2010, 10:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BakaTensei View Post
they are all used together but lucky beside most kanji there is hiragana for readers who are unfamiliar with it

So like, in a phrase, all these systems are blended together to make a sentence?
(#6 (permalink))
Old
evanny (Offline)
devil's advocate

10-19-2010, 10:06 PM

i suggest you get genki and genki work book first level. and then just go through it. since its self studying for you it should take a year to finish.
but most likely youll just drop it.
its starts with basic hirigana,katakana. youll learn phrases, numbers, basic grammar which could be rather difficult. first book also includes some 150 kanji.
to read an avarage newspaper youll need to know some 600.