JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
darkhunter22 (Offline)
New to JF

Japanese as my third language. - 01-01-2011, 03:40 PM

Hello! I'm new here. I just want to ask some few questions before starting learning japanese.

Currently, I'm studying as a computer scientist here in Asia. My first language is Filipino and second is English. I want to go to japan so I want it to be my third language.

I really love watching anime and japanese movies. But, I only rely on subtitles it has. Now, I'm studying japanese on my own while on the university. I'm memorizing 5 hiragana/katakana each day and Grade 1 vocabularies. I have also a apps on my iphone that teaches japanese grammar. (ie, Sushi-o tabemasu ka? Konban kohi-o nomimasu ka? )

I saw this JLPT test. Is it worth to have it? I'm not a major on some sort of language. I'm a computer scientist student who want to work as a game programmer someday. But, I really want most of what japanese have. I want to go there and probably live or work there if possible.

So my question is, is it worth it? What should I aim each day to go through N1 level? Is it hard to self study it?

Thank you
darkhunter22
(#2 (permalink))
Old
KyleGoetz (Offline)
Attorney at Flaw

01-01-2011, 04:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkhunter22 View Post
I saw this JLPT test. Is it worth to have it?
The only levels worth it are 1 and maaaaybe 2 (the two most difficult). More important is that you basically become the best programmer in the world because there are plenty of programmers in Japan already, and immigrating there for work is difficult unless you already have work contacts there willing to vouch for you.

The only person I know personally who was able to get a job as a programmer in Japan was an American who spent a year in Japan at a university studying, met someone in the software industry there, and impressed him enough to get the company to sponsor a work visa for him.