JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Richard1 (Offline)
New to JF

Thinking of Living and Working in Japan - 01-23-2008, 12:50 AM

I am graduating this june from university, where i studied History. I am seriously thinking of living and working in Japan. I was hoping you guys/gals could give me some help in making this big decision. Any help you can give would be most welcome. thanks
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

01-23-2008, 12:55 AM

Your best bet is going to be an English teaching job. I think it's too late to apply to the JET program for fall, but you can look there.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
jasonbvr (Offline)
TrixR4Kidz

01-23-2008, 02:15 AM

Positions starting in August/September usually begin appearing in May. You should start applying then. Look at Teaching in the JP 2.0 if you want to teach and the links provided there in.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
chachava (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Send a message via MSN to chachava
01-23-2008, 03:32 AM

Why do you want to live/work in Japan? Knowing exact reasons might help with jobs... also, what other skills/experience do you have?
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Richard1 (Offline)
New to JF

Thinking and Living in Japan - 02-02-2008, 09:39 PM

Thank you all for your comments and advice, I havent posted here sooner because I went away and thought very carefully about this decision and I still believe it is the right decision for me. As for other skills I have; Radio Breakfast Show Presenter, Various University Committee Places, Former concessions manager for a suit company. Any other advice please feel free to post. Where would I start to make this happen.
(#6 (permalink))
Old
SSJup81 (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

Send a message via ICQ to SSJup81 Send a message via AIM to SSJup81 Send a message via MSN to SSJup81 Send a message via Yahoo to SSJup81 Send a message via Skype™ to SSJup81
02-02-2008, 11:20 PM

Out of curiosity, how much Japanese do you know?
(#7 (permalink))
Old