JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Senbee (Offline)
JF Regular

Is studying in a Japanese University Possible? - 07-11-2008, 08:24 AM

Hey guy,

this is basically my situation. I am a 17 year old student who will graduate high school in Germany in two years. I speak both English and German fluently and I will have had three years of studying Japanese when finishing high school. I have been fascinated by Japan for quite a while and actually took my first trip there this summer. And wooow I enjoyed it xD. So I decided that I would really enjoy living/studying there (haha I bet you have heard something like this before in several other threads). I could go to a University in Japan for a one year exchange in college, thats for sure. But I would prefer to actually study there for 4 years instead. My grades are pretty decent but there is the huge language problem. After only 3 years of Japanese classes I will definitely not be fluent nor know 2000 kanji.

So here are my questions

Are there Colleges/University's in Japan where non fluent speakers can apply to? (something like an international college)

And how hard is it to be accepted into one?

How much does the average University in Japan cost?

Am I beeing a complete fool for wanting to study there or is it actualy realistic xD?

I would be very glad if someone replies.

Senbee
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Nyororin (Offline)
Mod Extraordinaire

Send a message via MSN to Nyororin Send a message via Yahoo to Nyororin
07-11-2008, 09:05 AM

Yes, it is quite possible. I received my degree here, at a 4 year Japanese university. However, I had already attained a fair level of fluency before even starting, which is going to be your main wall.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Senbee View Post
Are there Colleges/University's in Japan where non fluent speakers can apply to? (something like an international college)