JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
sundevil87 (Offline)
New to JF

Moving to Japan with car - 02-13-2009, 03:52 AM

I am an engineer moving to Japan to work aerospace programs. I already have my goods being shipped but I am also brinigng my classic 71 Chevelle SS Convert.

Before I get any "friendly" advice from folks here (I have read many threads here so get my meaning) I am putting an updted engine in it etc. so it will pass emissions stds even in the US. The car will be accompanying my household goods in the same container. My compnay does not know what to expect or do when the car hits the docks so to speak.

The question I have is; does anyone have experience in doing something like this and if so what can I expect and what do I need to do. The car is refurbished so lights and brakes etc. are in excellent condition. Basically this this thing is daily driver quality if I choose to do so. I do not. I have already been in Japan for several months and my family etc. leave Florida in April.

I will have my work permit process already in works (perhaps completed) byt he time the ship reaches Osaka. I am here LONG term.

Thanks in advance for the input.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
alanX (Offline)
The Psychedelic Traveler

Send a message via Skype™ to alanX
02-13-2009, 04:09 AM

You can't move to Japan with a car, car's can't drive on water!

HAHAHAHA sorry I couldn't resist.......

猿も木から落ちる
(#3 (permalink))
Old
blimp (Offline)
偽関西人

02-13-2009, 04:18 AM

i can't say that i have ever imported a car to japan, so all i can say is good luck!

Importing Your Car To Japan | Occidental Cars, Tokyo
FAQ

六甲颪(おろし)に 颯爽(さっそう)と
蒼天(そうてん)翔(か)ける日輪(にちりん)の
青春の覇気 美(うるわ)しく
輝く我が名ぞ 阪神タイガース
※オウ オウ オウオウ 阪神タイガース フレ フレ フレフレ
(#4 (permalink))
Old
Nagoyankee (Offline)
中庸を得るのだ~

02-13-2009, 04:18 AM

Here you go.

(#5 (permalink))
Old
Nyororin (Offline)
Mod Extraordinaire

Send a message via MSN to Nyororin Send a message via Yahoo to Nyororin
02-13-2009, 04:25 AM