JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
ny4u87 (Offline)
New to JF

Working as a geologist in Japan? - 03-15-2009, 04:14 PM

So...I've been thinking about visiting Japan for a long time (a few years), and it comes down to the fact that I am simply not wealthy, and can't afford to go on a quick, one or two week pleasure trip (sadly). So I want to go to japan to work for a year or two after college, but...I'm a geologist. At first that seemed like a good thing, I'd be able to experience volcanoes and earthquakes firsthand (I know that sounds crazy but I'm crazy about geology) and the experience of working abroad would probably be awesome for my resume when I returned to the U.S.

But then I thought, oh, man, japan is so tectonically active, they probably have a million geologists already! So my question is: does anyone know how the job market looks for geologists? Should I get my doctorate before even thinking about working as a geologist in Japan, or could I find a job with my bachelor's? I don't necessarily have to be doing the coolest geology work ever; I'd be happy analyzing rock samples in a lab or helping with land surveys for potential real estate buyers. I'd just love to experience a different culture (especially japan!) and get into my job market at the same time.

Any insight at all would be helpful. Thanks!

sometimes when I'm wearing sunglasses...I'm actually sleeping.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Nagoyankee (Offline)
中庸を得るのだ~

03-15-2009, 04:37 PM

How's your Japanese?

A Ph.D. in geology probably won't get you a job related to geology in Japan if you don't speak, read and write Japanese like a scholar should.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
ny4u87 (Offline)
New to JF

03-15-2009, 04:53 PM