JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
yuriyuri (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Degrees and Japan - 08-10-2009, 05:39 PM

So I have been to Japan a few times before, for roughly 4 - 6 weeks each time, I love learning the language, I have made lots of friends out there and I wanted to try living there for a while.

Now I know to do this I at least need a bachelors degree, but if I wanted to teach English would it matter what my degree was in?

I realise that a degree in English language or something along those lines would probably help, but I'm not sure if it really matters too much or if it is mainly for visa purposes and to show that you have at least been through some kind of further education.

(I'm sorry I am not very good at searching forums, and all I found where threads which basically just said you need a degree, so I wasn't sure if the type of degree mattered)

Any help is appreciated
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Seanus (Offline)
JF Old Timer

08-10-2009, 05:42 PM

It depends on the school but they usually just require you to have a Bachelors degree in any discipline. Mine was in Law and Management. If you have a Masters then you may get some bonus money.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Columbine (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

08-10-2009, 08:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by yuriyuri View Post
So I have been to Japan a few times before, for roughly 4 - 6 weeks each time, I love learning the language, I have made lots of friends out there and I wanted to try living there for a while.

Now I know to do this I at least need a bachelors degree, but if I wanted to teach English would it matter what my degree was in?

I realise that a degree in English language or something along those lines would probably help, but I'm not sure if it really matters too much or if it is mainly for visa purposes and to show that you have at least been through some kind of further education.