JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
ControlEngineer (Offline)
New to JF

Is Japan a country to build a career as an engineer? - 09-27-2011, 05:10 PM

Hi all,

my name is Konstantinos, I am 23 years old from Greece and I am studying Electrical and Computer Engineering (5-year-diploma). I want to ask you some information about Japan.

Is Japan a country to build a career as an engineer?

If I have 150.000 yen every month (from scholarship), can I live? What is the cost of life? (expenses, transportation, rent, entertainment).

Thank you very much.

Last edited by ControlEngineer : 09-27-2011 at 05:13 PM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

09-27-2011, 05:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ControlEngineer View Post
Hi all,

my name is Konstantinos, I am 23 years old from Greece and I am studying Electrical and Computer Engineering (5-year-diploma). I want to ask you some information about Japan.

Is Japan a country to build a career as an engineer?

If I have 150.000 yen every month (from scholarship), can I live? What is the cost of life? (expenses, transportation, rent, entertainment).

Thank you very much.
Just as I am sure it is true in Greece, it simply depends on where you live. If you want to live near the center of Tokyo, then 150,000 a month might be difficult. 1/2 to 2/3 of your income may go to rent alone.

However, if you can find work outside of the major metropolis areas like Tokyo, Yokohama, Osaka, etc. then you will see cost of living prices fall quite a bit.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
godwine (Offline)
自爆十秒前

09-27-2011, 05:36 PM

Second what MMM said

and as far as being an engineer is concern, I think it will be easier if you obtain your engineering degree in Japan, or if you further your study in Japan and eventually move into a research role.

It is very difficult for foreign graduuate of any engineering discipline to build a career in japan, not even with the required language skills.