View Single Post
(#19 (permalink))
Old
globetrotter36 (Offline)
JF Regular

Send a message via Skype™ to globetrotter36
08-27-2010, 02:16 PM

The answer to the question is yes you can be self-taught Japanese as I am albeit well and truly out of practice a number of years now. However, what matters is just how far you want to advance your studies; fine learning the basics from a text book which of course you will need as you will the hiragana and katakana script. As for fluency then that is a different ball-game, the problem being people don't talk like text-books. I notice when listening that Japanese not infrequently miss out verbs and of course use a few colloquialisms and expressions with which a foreigner may or not be familiar - no big surprise there.

For example the verb iru after the -te form of the word and the suru verb often gets missed out giving the impression, as far as I can deduce that a sentence has been left hanging in mid-air (people please correct me if I am wrong).

In addition the whole way of saying some things are so different that a foreigner would never ever think of saying it, here's and example from the Japanese drama 'One Liter of Tears;' Aya, the central character at one point says: 'when I put my hand to my heart I can hear it beating' (mune ni otte miru doki doki oto ga suru. The literal translation of what she says is; 'chest at it place hand when put thump-thump sound does' (well something like that)

How would you know that? The simple answer you wouldn't so you would have to do hell of a lot of listening but it's not impossible as I had a friend who spoke reasonably fluent Japanese without ever having lived in Japan which he achieved by mixing with Japanese people.. Just how 'fluent' he was I don't know - sorry to say I fell out with him rather badly so I guess I will never know.