JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Liumingke (Offline)
New to JF

Send a message via Yahoo to Liumingke
When is Kanji used versus Kana - 04-21-2008, 09:24 AM

I've been trying to understand something. When is the kanji used. I've read for Noun for sure. Adjectives and verbs use what is called "okurigana" were the root word is kanji and the extend is in kana. So why is it that the word for dictionary じびき (kana) 字引 (kanji) in the book that I'm studying use the kana and not the kanji? Isn't dictionary a noun? Can someone clarify this for me? Is there no set rule? Thanks.

Here to make some friends
(#2 (permalink))
Old
anrakushi (Offline)
草上之风必偃

04-21-2008, 09:33 AM

字引 is indeed written in Kanji, the reason why your book might not write it as kanji may be due to its level. I'm not sure what book you are readying but if it is for learning Japanese, then the book might not use kanji where those characters have not been learnt yet. if it is a children's book, the same reasons.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Nagoyankee (Offline)
中庸を得るのだ~

04-21-2008, 03:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liumingke View Post
I've been trying to understand something. When is the kanji used. I've read for Noun for sure. Adjectives and verbs use what is called "okurigana" were the root word is kanji and the extend is in kana. So why is it that the word for dictionary じびき (kana) 字引 (kanji) in the book that I'm studying use the kana and not the kanji? Isn't dictionary a noun? Can someone clarify this for me? Is there no set rule? Thanks.
As anrakushi pointed out, the book in which you saw the word じびき in hiragana may be for children or beginning learners of Japanese. If you look at the textbooks for the 1st-graders in Japan, you will not find too many kanji used.