JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Jonnyk (Offline)
New to JF

Whats the best way to start? - 05-02-2008, 12:27 PM

Hi everyone,

Im new to this forum, and want to learn Japanese to help open up employment prospects.

I hold an MSc in Information Security (IS), and am also currently studying for the CCNA. A friend of mine is out in Tokyo at the moment working for a financial company as an information security manager, he says that it might be a good idea for me to learn japanese as the IS market out there is booming at the moment. His suggestion to me was that I got a Japanese girlfriend to help me learn, but seeing as I have trouble getting a regular GF, I have to look for other options... LOL.

Heres what I know so far:
Konichiwa - Hello
Watashi Wa Jonathan Des Dozu Yoroshiku - I am called Jonathan pleased to make ur aquaintance.
Kore Wa - This is...
Sore Wa - That is...
Nande - What
Na-niiii - What? (I assume the addition of the ni turns the nande into a question)
Matte - Wait
I Kuze - Let's go
dakara - Does this mean because?
Sayonara - Goodbye

I managed to download some videos from the Japan Foundation, but Im looking for a more structured way to learn which I would get if i could network with someone whos either Japanese, or knows the language inside out.

Whats the best way to carry on from here? Im looking to learn both how to speak the language, and how to write it.

In return I can offer in return help with the following: English Spoken/Written, Mathematics tutoring, Information Security Knowledge.

Thanks in advance, I look forward to hearing from a few of you.

Regards

Jon

Last edited by Jonnyk : 05-02-2008 at 12:33 PM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Yingzi (Offline)
JF Regular

05-04-2008, 09:28 AM

Hi John!
Thank a lot for having interests to learn Japanese !

I don't know what the best way to start learning Japanese because I'm native Japanese so I'm afraid I can't suggest how to learn it.