JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Sashimister (Offline)
他力本願

Where Does This Idea Come From? - 05-21-2010, 05:48 AM

I've been wondering about this quite some time but was always afraid of asking.

Why do many people seem to think it cooler to write letters or cards to Japanese friends in Japanese when they aren't able to write them by themselves? We get these types of requests in the Japanese Help section from people who, later on, turn out to be complete noobs to the Japanese language.

Why do they want to send something that isn't their own and something that their Japanese friend will find out in a second was clearly written by someone else? Who do these letters make happy? What's wrong with writing it in your first language even if you had to use simple language?

I have no problem with this if the language of communication has always been Japanese between the two persons. Otherwise, this phenomenon leaves me in the dark.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

05-21-2010, 06:26 AM

I am not sure if it is a matter of "being cooler" as much as a desire to make their Japanese friend happy.

However, I am afraid the result would be the opposite. If I were a Japanese living in a foreign country, I would probably be happier receiving a note in the native language of that country (assuming I understand it to some degree) rather than in Japanese.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
sakaeyellow (Offline)
JF Regular

05-21-2010, 08:34 AM

I don't know but Sashimister-san, you seem to be a little bit too angry at the things around you.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
Sashimister (Offline)
他力本願

05-21-2010, 09:25 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sakaeyellow View Post
I don't know but Sashimister-san, you seem to be a little bit too angry at the things around you.
Don't follow me around, spammer. If you've got nothing to say, don't post.
(#5 (permalink))
Old
KyleGoetz (Offline)
Attorney at Flaw

05-21-2010, 03:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sashimister View Post