JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
boolean (Offline)
New to JF

Working remotely from Japan - 10-09-2008, 11:18 PM

Hello all, I'm very excited to find this community. I'm hoping to spend 6 months in Japan in 2010. Here is a brief info about myself:
I have a combined degree in Computer Science and Business from a reputable university in Canada. (5 years of full-time study).
I'm a software developer and have around 3-4 years of experience. While visiting Japan, I will be working for my online business for which all I need is my laptop and an internet connection.
1. Do I need a work permit to work for my online business. If so any ideas on taxation? My business is based in Canada.
2. Where would be ideal places for working? Basically, I should be able to spend 4-6 hrs a day with a wifi and power outlet.
3. Without fluent Japanese, is it very hard for me to get a software development job in Japan?
Thanks in advance.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

10-10-2008, 12:16 AM

1. Since you will not be earing yen in Japan there is no need for a work visa.

2. 4-6 hours in an manga / Internet cafe will be a good bet. Of course, some hotels and cafes are starting to provide free wifi, but I would recommend the Internet cafe. More privacy, and no one gets mad if you hang out all day. They are cheap, especially long-term visits.

3. Don't know #3,

How are you planning on staying six months? Working Holiday Visa? Tourist Visas are only 90 days. Where are you planning on staying?
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Nyororin (Offline)
Mod Extraordinaire

Send a message via MSN to Nyororin Send a message via Yahoo to Nyororin
10-10-2008, 12:19 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by boolean View Post
3. Without fluent Japanese, is it very hard for me to get a software development job in Japan?
I`ll answer this one.

Yes. Think pretty much close to impossible.