JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Hamichan (Offline)
New to JF

Should I stay or should I go? - 10-29-2008, 07:42 AM

Hi there,

I live in New Zealand and Im currently studying in my second year of a degree in Japanese.

I have been contemplating a working holiday in Japan next year as a break from my studies, but ever since the current financial crisis I have become skeptical about how easy it would be for me to live and work in Japan.

I have heard stories of foreigners in Japan being prone to losing their jobs, and I imagine the cost of living has will also be a factor.

Last year I could buy 95 yen for $1 New Zealand dollar. Now I can only buy 55!

I have spoken to many people about my problem. Some have said I should still go, while others have said it would be safer for me to put a working holiday on hold and continue my degree instead.

If anyone here has any advise it would be much appreciated. Thank you.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

10-29-2008, 08:01 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamichan View Post
Hi there,

I live in New Zealand and Im currently studying in my second year of a degree in Japanese.

I have been contemplating a working holiday in Japan next year as a break from my studies, but ever since the current financial crisis I have become skeptical about how easy it would be for me to live and work in Japan.

I have heard stories of foreigners in Japan being prone to losing their jobs, and I imagine the cost of living has will also be a factor.

I have spoken to many people about my problem. Some have said I should still go, while others have said it would be safer for me to put a working holiday on hold and continue my degree instead.

I would say focus on graduating, and then look for a job in Japan after that.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Ronin4hire (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

10-29-2008, 08:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamichan View Post
Hi there,

Lol... what university?