JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
nomadic (Offline)
New to JF

Cool Moving to Kyoto without a job... STUPID? - 03-02-2010, 02:20 AM

Hi Everyone,

Question: I really want to live in Kyoto. A few people have told me to get a work visa here in Canada, and then job search on the ground.

**Most schools dont want to deal with your visa.
**I can be there to see/check the school/conditions/curriculum.

AM I STUPID? Going to Japan without a solid job?

I have 4 years experience in ESL, A TESOL certification, worked in 3 countries, and a 4 year degree.

THANKS!

Joel.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Yuusuke (Offline)
Banned!

03-02-2010, 02:46 AM

You'll do fine. lots of ppl went there with worst. basically if you have a uni degree it will help your chances to stay there a lot. try being a teacher i'd reccomend, learn the language than achieve ur profession.

(#3 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

03-02-2010, 02:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadic View Post
Hi Everyone,

Question: I really want to live in Kyoto. A few people have told me to get a work visa here in Canada, and then job search on the ground.

**Most schools dont want to deal with your visa.
**I can be there to see/check the school/conditions/curriculum.

AM I STUPID? Going to Japan without a solid job?

I have 4 years experience in ESL, A TESOL certification, worked in 3 countries, and a 4 year degree.

THANKS!

Joel.
To get a work visa, you need a sponsor. To get a sponsor you need a job. Look for work from Canada, and you will be able to go to Japan with job in hand.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
Tsuwabuki (Offline)
石路 美蔓

03-02-2010, 03:04 AM

Stupid? No. Less than ideal? Yes.

Kyoto is proper is actually not a good place to be looking for a job. JET has control over most contracts with schools, because Kyoto is the cultural center of Japan. In addition, it is a place many people (including yours truly) who already are set up in the area would like to move to.