JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
discoiskinky (Offline)
JF Regular

Japan Fashion Industry - 03-10-2010, 03:06 AM

Hey

I am a fashion designer in Sydney and I am considering relocating to Japan. I am interested to find out if anyone here works in or has had any experience with the Japanese fashion industry and if it is common for foreigners to work in this type of industry.

Besides fashion I have a graphic design background but not a very extensive one. I have been in fashion design for about 4 years. Mostly menswear but I am also interested in womens. I would be interested in anything creative based I suppose. I don't think i would be accepted in non creative roles not only due to my lack of experience in that type of thing but i dont have a very corporate appearance (tattoos etc).

Any advice or shared experiences would be great, or if there is anything online catered to this type of thing that would be great.

Thanks in advance.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Tsuwabuki (Offline)
石路 美蔓

03-10-2010, 06:28 AM

You're a little late, but you could contact the people who run Japan Fashion Week.

<- AnimeMusicVideos.Org
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Polar (Offline)
JF Old Timer

03-10-2010, 01:54 PM

Do you belong to any associations ?

Here's the list for Japan.

Here's the list for Oz.

Those are the people to ask.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
discoiskinky (Offline)
JF Regular

03-11-2010, 09:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshAussie View Post
So uh.. What do you have that native Japanese fashion/graphic designers don't have?

Why would you become successful? Why are you thinking about going to Japan anyway? Do you think success will come easier to you over there?
In the fashion industry it is common practice for people of different countries to work together. It's not about having skills that natives don't have as such - it's more about exploring different aesthetics and the collaboration of different creatives.