View Single Post
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Tenchu (Offline)
-

09-03-2009, 08:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTJ View Post
The only drawback to cross training is that you arent likely to be too expert in any one of them, but I'll take being well-rounded and adaptable any day over being ingrained soley in one area.
Yeah. That's what I say about MMA; jack of all trades and master of none.

A raised from scratch MMA fighter usually has really shitty striking... at the same time, they usually have a bit of trouble in a pure BJJ competition.

Personally, but, I prefer to master something, rather than jack everything.

I started with Wing Chun (WC, Kung Fu) and self taught Ninjutsu (which, regardless it was self taught, actually went quite well; I focused on all techniques in it aside fighting, as I used WC for that).

After a while, my WC teacher told me he also taught Brazilian Jiu Jutsu (BJJ) on other days to supplement his WC. So I started that as well, but only for a few months. I learned the basics, but.

I also did a tad of Karate then, but only learned 2 kicks. That inspired me to start doing self taught Tae Kwon Do later on as I enjoyed the back kicks. From TKD, which I still study, I only practice the single techniques, not the style. Because my current style only has basic kicks. I learn the kicks from an instructional DVD which is really in depth in explaining how to do them (probably more in depth than most teachers go).

I was in the Infantry for a bit. But that career flunked. Yet it gave me a taste of modern combat training (I completed 9 months of full time training before leaving it).

Now I've been doing Muay Thai for 2 years in Thailand. We also do a lot of Western Boxing in Muay Thai classes, as most the Muay Thai guys have also done pro Boxing fights and the two styles are very closely related nowadays.