Koir (Offline)
Meow.

11-22-2009, 02:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by YuriTokoro View Post
Hi.
Could you correct my English?

"A University Entrance Examination"

I think many of your schools start in September every year, while Japanese schools start in April.
The Japanese school system is six years of elementary school, three years of junior high school, three years of high school, then two or four years of university.
Many foreign countries seem to have many options to finish schools, while we only have the 6-3-3 system in Japan.
Just after I graduated high school, I entered a pharmaceutical school. Normally, you would complete university training then enroll in a professional school in your country, right? You can take time to decide your profession which seems very convenient.
However, students in Japan need to decide before they're seventeen whether to become a doctor, pharmacist, lawyer, or another profession. I took an entrance examination for pharmaceutical school when I was seventeen. The school was one department of a university where they taught medicine and other fields of study typical for Western universities.
When I worked as a pharmacist, one of the office women said to me, “You decided to become a pharmacist when you were 15 or 16 years old, didn’t you?”
She was right. I decided when I was 16 and started preparing for the exam. Japanese universities and professional schools are hard to enter, but many of them are easy to graduate.
She said, “I can’t believe that! I didn’t imagine anything about my future when I was 16! I wish I did. If I have done that, I could have gotten a better job and salary!”
How old were you when you decided your occupation?

By the way, this is when I had the entrance exam. I didn’t know a certain English word in the English examination. The word was “pub”.
I have been to some pubs in Ireland now, but normal Japanese 17 year students don’t know what “pub” is! What do you think?

Thank you!