JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
NAPS (Offline)
New to JF

Online Optician - 05-15-2009, 11:44 PM

Right this may seem a stupid idea to many but im studying to be an optometrist who should be your first port of call if you notice or develop anything unusual to do with your eyes. To help me with my studies please fire away any questions you have concerning your eyes, basically this is designed for me to reinforce my knowledge on the complicated subject of optics.

EG:
Q: What are those little black dots i keep seeing floating around? Is there anything wrong with me?
A: This is a natural occurence called "floaters", most adults have them and some more than others. It occurs when the jellatinous substance inside of your cornea liquifies over time and debree breaks loose and floats around (hence terminology "floaters"). If you notice these floaters increasing in great amounts, especially to the point where it is affecting your vision, go and see your optometrist.

PS: One last thing, i am not yet a qualified optometrist, although i have utmost faith in my knowledge on quite a lot of things to do with eyes please dont take my word for anything, also if something seems a genuine problem go and see your optometrist.

Last edited by NAPS : 05-15-2009 at 11:49 PM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Aniki (Offline)
JF's Road Roller

05-15-2009, 11:52 PM

Oh, I have a good question.
Besides all those eye drops and pills that you can buy in drug stores what else would you recommend for keeping eyes healthy?
(#3 (permalink))
Old
NAPS (Offline)
New to JF

05-16-2009, 12:01 AM

There are many things you can do but the best one from my point of view is to maintain a healthy diet, carrots are not just a myth and although they do not make you see in the dark they are very beneficial to the health of the optic nerve and eyes themselves.