JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
shida (Offline)
New to JF

Research - Okinawan Term. - 09-06-2010, 04:20 PM

Dear Members

I am a writer who has been researching the karate-do style of Okinawan Goju Ryu. The area of particular interest is the practice known as 'kakai', which is usually translated into English as 'stick hand'. I am trying to locate the Japanese ideograms for 'kakai', and despite approaching several karate schools and one or two Okinawan web sires, I have as yet received no answer.

I would be very grateful if anyone could guide me in the right direction. The complication appears to arise from the fact that 'kakai', as a practice, might well have arisen in Fujian province - China, and spread to Okinawa, with 'kakai' perhaps being a Chinese word.

Thank you for your time in this matter.

Last edited by shida : 09-14-2010 at 10:07 PM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
siokan (Offline)
JF Old Timer

09-06-2010, 11:26 PM

What is kakai name?
ryu-ha? kata? weapon?

Please permit poor English. orz
Cryptanalysis is necessary for you.
set a goal:English at the same level as Johan Cruyff
(#3 (permalink))
Old
shida (Offline)
New to JF

Kakai, Kaki, Kakie, Kokie. - 09-07-2010, 07:02 AM

Here is a short explanation of the practice:

Kakie
Okinawan Traditional Goju Ryu Karate-do Association History Page

'Partner exercises (gyaku-te in Goju-Ryu) with qinna, are the basis of kakie ('kokie' in the Fujian dialect), one of the strongholds of Goju-Ryu.