JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Ehrenritter (Offline)
New to JF

What's the image of the 旭日旗, Kyokujitsu-ki (Rising sun Flag) in Asia and Japan? - 03-06-2011, 04:14 PM

Hello there, I'm a graphic designer and I'm quite interested in the expressive potential of the japanese rising sun flag, so I want to use it in one way or another in my designs.

Image of the flag:

The question is that I've heard that the flag have negative connotations in some places of Asia, is that true? At least here in Europe is a trendy symbol, a very visual signifier without meaning, so postmodern, but I don't want to make a mistake thinking that in the rest of the world is the same, so I would be very grateful if someone could clarify me about the mental meaning or the `` instant impression´´ that comes to the mind of an Asian (and the possible differences between Japan, China, Korea, Sudeast Asia etc) while seeing that flag.

Thanks in advance.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
tipsygypsy (Offline)
wa gwaaan?

03-06-2011, 04:41 PM

uuuh yeah. japanese navy used to use this flag during WW2. so, chinese and korean get offended when they see this. but i like this image tho

Jah Rastafaaari. Yeah pasta for life
(#3 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

03-06-2011, 05:20 PM

Japanese right wing nationalistic symbol. Like the confederate flag in the US. Not recommended.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
JohnBraden (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

03-06-2011, 05:33 PM

It is still used in Japan as the standard of the Japan Maritime Self Defense forces.

It does have some negative connotations, especially where the Japanese forces were invaders during World War 2. My mother doesn't like the flag all that much, since it reminds her of the occupation of her native Cebu....
(#5 (permalink))
Old
GoNative (Offline)

03-07-2011, 01:35 AM

A very cool flag though. Pity about the negative connotations...
(#6 (permalink))
Old
Ryzorian (Offline)

03-07-2011, 03:57 AM