JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Firebird (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Send a message via ICQ to Firebird Send a message via Skype™ to Firebird
Working Holiday "off the beaten track" - 05-03-2008, 11:11 PM

Well, after ive been a member of Japanforum for some weeks and have been reading many advises and threads in the traveling section i come to introducing myself and asking my questions to Traveling in Japan.

My name is Dennis, im 24 and im from Germany. I have been learning Japanese since around 6 months to have at least some language when i arrive there. I have already been on a Working Holiday in Australia and that worked out fine, so now im heading to Japan. (my german blog to Australia is Japan 2008/2009 )

Now to my plans: Flight 24.06.2008 (booked) to Tokyo.
Staying in Tokyo for 6 weeks (of wich are 4 weeks japanese conversation class (booked))
Heading to Hokkaido, meeting a friend from Australia in Sapporo and buying a car. Traveling around Hokkaido by car, maybe some woofing. (time around 2 months)
Around september heading back towards Tokyo for staying there during the winter. I will travel from Hokkaido to Tokyo by car, but will defenetly try to leave the car somewhere outside Tokyo.
Getting a monthly trainticket and a accomodation in a Gaijinhouse/apartment in Tokyo and getting a job. Working and chilling in Tokyo till Spring.
Leaving Tokyo south (again with the car) and moving all the was south.
Getting some last days in Okinawa (maybe some more woofing) and then heading to South Korea.

I know this are big plans, and im sure im gonna change them here and there (as i did in australia) but its just to give u an idea of traveling. Now to my questions:
Accomodation: I plan to sleep in the car during the warmer days, just somewhere next to the roadside outside the Towns in rural areas or on camping places. Do you think this is possible at all?
I also plan to use couchsurfing and hospitalityclub: Anybody got expierence?