JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Dan0512 (Offline)
New to JF

1st timer needs advice - 02-21-2009, 06:05 PM

Hey guys, I'm currently on my last semester of highschool, and I'm planning to go visit Japan alone once I have my diploma and my vacations. I live in Switzerland by the way.

I've been told that it's a better idea to visit Japan either during spring, or autumn, basically because the weather is most convenient. Sadly, I practically don't have any vacations during those seasons, so that leaves me only with summer for a choice. How's the weather during summer? I've spent vacations during summer in many places (including Florida), and the temperature or humidity really doesn't bother me much. Do you think summer limits the experience a lot?

Apart from the time frame, I also don't have much an idea of my itinerary. The basic guidelines that I've come up now is that I'm probably going to be spending around 3 Weeks in Japan (likely from 17.6 - 8.7) - 10 days in "Tokyo", and then 10 days in "Osaka". I've written the cities in quotation marks, because I know that there are also a lot of places in the vicinities of both cities that are worth visiting as well. Which ones would you suggest? I already know what I'd be visiting inside the cities, but I wouldn't know what to do outside them.

One thing that's clear to me though is that my stay will be limited to hostels due to my budget. I'm sure that's not going to be a problem since I've spent many vacations in hostels as well, though only in Europe.

Is there anything else I should be especially aware of (as a young student)?

Advice is much appreciated!
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

02-21-2009, 08:09 PM

I think splitting the two like that is a good idea. I have never stayed in a hostel, so I don't know the hostel culture, but there are a LOT of threads covering your very question in this section. I think if have a specific question you;ll get specific answers.