JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
LadyQ (Offline)
New to JF

Question any good kanji-teaching tools out there? - 04-16-2008, 02:21 AM

I've just started to learn kanji (I'm a complete beginner) and there are lots and lots of programs and tools to help one to do that... none of which seem helpful.

Quite many of them teach the kanji symbol but no readings, just the English word. In some cases the translations are rather misleading.
...This seems a bit odd. Why would I want to learn a picture and the corresponding English word? I want to speak the language too.

Another thing, even though some programs allow one to set the level, they still teach kanjis that I don't think I'll be using in the near future. Finding a tool that suits my puny vocabulary is not the point, just a little more common kanjis...Or is this asking too much?

Just, if anyone knows any good tools, I'd like to hear.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
BakaCrisis (Offline)
(。・_・。)σ

Send a message via AIM to BakaCrisis Send a message via MSN to BakaCrisis Send a message via Skype™ to BakaCrisis
04-16-2008, 02:25 AM

If oyu have AIM I can send you an PDF on all the kannji steps.

Teach me Japanese (Skype: davidh053090 )
(#3 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

04-16-2008, 02:53 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyQ View Post
I've just started to learn kanji (I'm a complete beginner) and there are lots and lots of programs and tools to help one to do that... none of which seem helpful.

Quite many of them teach the kanji symbol but no readings, just the English word. In some cases the translations are rather misleading.
...This seems a bit odd. Why would I want to learn a picture and the corresponding English word? I want to speak the language too.