(#11 (permalink))
Old
Camui (Offline)
JF Old Timer

12-08-2007, 04:12 AM

I suggest that you try the site below. You can listen to the audio
files for free, or you can pay to have access to more of what
the site offers.

I just listen to the audio files (which is totally free xD).

Here is a link. It is linked to the "newbie page". Here you can
listen to audio files that help with the total beginner. I suggest
signing up for the free 7 day trial as well. That way, you
can see everything that the site has to offer for your study of
the Japanese language. xD

Enjoy! Also, feel free to PM me if you have any questions. I am
teaching myself Japanese as well. xD
Learn Japanese

Assassin's Creed

mysinging
私の歌唱

(#12 (permalink))
Old
danslak (Offline)
JF Regular

12-08-2007, 08:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaoken View Post
I'm sorry I have to disagree. You should know the words and the grammar. They should be learned together. As the grammar patterns become more complex knowing just the words will do no good. Sure sometimes you can drop a few particles, but you can't drop grammar!
Yes, I agree to an extent. First, the various forms of a verb I don't see as grammar, which I think you might. That's fair. But consider: 'ikimasu' and ikimashou are 2 different words with several meanings, including full sentences in english.

BUT YES you can drop grammar and people will still understand you. We do it in english every day. BUT again, if you know the meanings of words grammar becomes second nature. It's how we learn as children; No child starts off with grammar. If they want milk, they say "milk", then "me milk", then eventually "I'd like some milk please". This happens intuitively in children as well as adults. Obviously, adults can make these jumps faster to grammar (while children retain more over their lifetime). Often students get drowned in grammar, killing any passion for the language.