JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Nokutetsu (Offline)
JF Regular

Send a message via MSN to Nokutetsu
Working holiday visa, living. - 05-19-2009, 09:41 PM

I'm not planning on this soon (I can't, you have to be 18 at least) but I'm planning ahead it in the future.

Being a UK citizen, I can get a working holiday visa for up to a year, or stay in Japan for up to 6 months without a visa. Obviously, having a visa would be much more plausible for a longer stay. Whether it's for working or renting books/ DVDs ect, I think I'll apply for the visa when the time comes.

I'm studying Japanese, and I'm looking for a few questions to be answered.

Job: teaching English would be nice. However, living in Tokyo is just too expensive. I would like to stay in the Kanto region, but somewhere less expensive, eg Atami, or somewhere near by. I'm pretty sure I could eat cheaply, and rent a 1K apartment. I'm pretty good with money.

So what I'm wondering is, if I was to budget carefully and live in a 1K apartment outside Tokyo, could I survive on the wage of a foreign English teacher?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

05-19-2009, 10:06 PM

What do you mean by "1K" apartment? Like a one room apartment?
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Nyororin (Offline)
Mod Extraordinaire

Send a message via MSN to Nyororin Send a message via Yahoo to Nyororin
05-20-2009, 12:17 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMM View Post
What do you mean by "1K" apartment? Like a one room apartment?
I am assuming they mean the normal definition of 1K in Japanese - Like, 1 room plus kitchen.

MMM, I`m surprised you don`t know the abbreviations. There is 1-room, with just one room (obviously)... Then 1K for 1 room + kitchen, 1DK for one room + large enough kitchen to dine in there too, 1LDK for one bedroom + living dining and kitchen (usually just one big room but occasionally split into LD and K) and so on... I live in a 4LDK, which is 4 bedrooms, living, dining, and kitchen.

To the OP;