JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
ACW (Offline)
JF Regular

Would like some advice about going towards Japan - 05-27-2009, 03:11 AM

Hi, this is my first post on the "Japan Forum" so I thank you for your time and patience. I'm in my third year of college and I am planning on teaching English in Japan after I graduate. For the previous three semesters I have been learning Japanese in class and in my free time. I've been mostly practicing grammar a lot and learning a little Kanji. Up to 200 so far I believe. Anyways my first question would be am I on the right track concerning the Japanese language? Should I keep studying now or wait till I go to Japan? I only ask this because learning another language in your native country can be quite hard.

Next I've been saving money for Japan so I can rent an apartment, pay for key money, etc. whenever I go. I was wondering what a single room apartment with a western toilet, washing machine, and bath would cost. I lived in a apartment in Niigata but I did not have to pay for it since it was provided by the university I was attending. I have no idea on the expenses

Next, I was looking at Jason's guide to Japan, particulary the cover letter and resume as well the different teaching programs in Japan. I was interested in JET but found that it's selection of teacher's is like playing Russian roulette blind-folded. I also heard about the shady business practices of INTERAC with English teacher's. I was wandering, has anyone had any interactions with other companies such as Geos, ECC, Berlitz & Aeon? Any advise from current or past teacher's would be wonderful. Oh as well would anyone like to add anything a part from what Jason said in his guide concerning cover letter and resume?