JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Geoffharsh (Offline)
New to JF

Just got here... - 01-02-2010, 02:53 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to Japan, got sent here by my employer now working as a personnel training and curriculum manager (but my eye's on the QA spot) for an ordnance-related facility, looking for advice on what's good and what's not. I live in Yokohama now, I think the southern bit. Don't know jack about the language or culture other than what I picked up in the four months' heads up I got before I came, and my fellow foreign co-workers all either hate the heck out of this place or are more into cartoons than I think is healthy for an adult. Are there any, no offense intended, normal people living in Japan? What brought you here? I've poked about the forums a bit and it seems my position is rather unique to other posters; so since I'm already here I figure I'd rather learn a bit about it since I'm rather stuck for the next 2-3 years...

Your attention is much appreciated.

-Geoff

Last edited by Geoffharsh : 01-02-2010 at 02:55 PM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

01-02-2010, 08:18 PM

Start learning the language as much as possible. The difference between the people who really enjoy their lived in Japan, and those that feel "stuck" there are those that speak the language.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Sangetsu (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

01-03-2010, 12:38 AM

Yokohama is an interesting place, not far from where I'm at. You should find plenty of things of interest to see or do.

It's true that Japan is a love-hate place for many foreigners who live and work here, though the people who hate living here are the kind that would typically be unhappy anywhere.

Many foreigners who come to live in Japan seem socially dysfunctional to a certain degree, and I often think that is one of the reasons they ended up in Japan. As a result, and as you have found, it's often hard to meet "normal" people.