JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Living in Japan (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/living-japan/)
-   -   Me and my girlfriend moving HELP!!! (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/living-japan/35240-me-my-girlfriend-moving-help.html)

joshlad14 12-18-2010 07:26 PM

Me and my girlfriend moving HELP!!!

Hi

i am a student at uni and im about you get my Ba honors dagree, but im a little worried because i am about to propose to my girlfriend and i hope to marry her but i also want to live in japan and teach english. heres the problem she doesnt have a degree and she doesnt have the money to afford to get one ether. is there a certain visa she can obtain to come with me to japan and like not work. because i love her and i dont want to have to choose between my dream girl and my dream life.

all help is appreciated

from josh

SHAD0W 12-18-2010 07:51 PM

Wow. I can't believe you're considering choosing between your wife and your job. You obviously don't love her as much as you say man.

joshlad14 12-18-2010 07:57 PM

she is my girlfriend at the moment but like i said i dont want to choose so that is why im asking for help

MMM 12-19-2010 01:23 AM

There is nothing wrong with planning for the future. He is trying to not have to choose one over the other.

Personally, I wouldn't recommend marriage before you are established and can support a family on your own.

That being said, I believe if you are married your spouse can get a spouse visa and your wife can live there.

It is important to keep in mind that many schools that hire English teachers have single or studio apartments pre-rented for the teachers, or some have single sex dormitories, so that may limit your options in that respect.

Also, talk with her about this. Living in a foreign country can be one of the most stressful experiences of one's life, especially if one is not in love with the country and cannot speak the language. Not necessarily recommended for newlyweds.