JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
sushidushi (Offline)
JF Regular

Pronunciation of 'g' sound in Japanese - 01-06-2009, 09:36 PM

I am just beginning to try to learn some Japanese. I have looked at various books, some of which suggest that the 'g' in Japanese is always pronounced like the hard 'g' in the English word 'egg', but others seem to contradict that and say that, in the middle of words (as in, well, tamago) it is more like 'ng' in the English word 'long'.

Is it a regional thing, perhaps? Or does it depend on where in a word the 'g' appears? Or, perhaps, as I suspect, rather more complicated than either of those...?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

01-06-2009, 09:37 PM

The "G" is always a hard sound, like in egg.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
sushidushi (Offline)
JF Regular

01-06-2009, 09:41 PM

Thanks, MMM! That's music to my ears. Simple.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMM View Post
(#4 (permalink))
Old
Tangram (Offline)
JF Regular

Send a message via Skype™ to Tangram
01-06-2009, 10:04 PM

It is always a hard g, but the 'ng' sound is hard. There's less 'n' than in long, but...ah, it's hard to explain. If you just always use a plain g, that's fine, no one will call you out for it. But if you ever move to Japan or just speak to enough Japanese speakers, you'll eventually pick up that in some words, there's a definite 'n' influence.

From the listening exercises that I've done, I can say that sometimes there's enough 'n' to trip you up. If I'm not really familiar with a word, sometimes I can't tell if they're saying 'g' or 'n'.
(#5 (permalink))
Old
chryuop (Offline)
JF Old Timer

01-06-2009, 10:10 PM

I admit that the "g" sound puzzles me alot in Japanese. I watch alot of Japanese TV and listen to alot of Japanese music and many times the particle I know it is "ga" coz it marks the subject sounds way too close to "na"...and that my misunderstanding of the "g" messes me up also with regular words.