JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Metalhead (Offline)
New to JF

Hello and help! ;) - 12-31-2010, 02:49 PM

Hi, I'm a newbie here but by the look of things I wish I'd found this place sooner.

I've been studying Japanese for just over a year but I'm still rather terrible, but what is bothering me the most is that I often see sentences where I know I should understand it, because I know the words, and I know the particles etc. But I still can't grasp the meaning anyway.

For example, I'm (trying) to play a game at the moment and got this..

いえ、無理してでも来るんです。

My guesslation would be:

No, (you) are being unreasonable, but I came anyway.

If somebody could tell me what it should mean that'd be great, but more importantly if anybody knows how I can find out/study by myself that'd be even better.

Words I don't know and kanji I don't recoginize I can easily look up, but when I simply don't get the grammer/context - I'm not sure how I'm supposed to learn. At the moment I just forget about them and stick to studying, then hope when I come back to it at a later date maybe it'll make more sense.. but any sort of grammer resource, flash card sentences etc would be great if you know of any.

Thanks in advance
(#2 (permalink))
Old
masaegu (Offline)
永遠の愛

12-31-2010, 03:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metalhead View Post
Hi, I'm a newbie here but by the look of things I wish I'd found this place sooner.

I've been studying Japanese for just over a year but I'm still rather terrible, but what is bothering me the most is that I often see sentences where I know I should understand it, because I know the words, and I know the particles etc. But I still can't grasp the meaning anyway.

For example, I'm (trying) to play a game at the moment and got this..

いえ、無理してでも来るんです。

My guesslation would be:

No, (you) are being unreasonable, but I came anyway.