JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Caspar (Offline)
New to JF

Moving to Kyoto next April - 06-18-2011, 03:17 PM

first thing first, i want to say thank you everyone for making that many threads and sharing your knowledge and experience
about Japan. It really helped me to rethinking many times "why i want to move to Japan" and to find an answer.

I'm 22 years old, i'm from Europe, 2 years ago i studied abroad in Denmark but i dropped out(didn't like Engineering) and took
1 year off so that i could find out what i want to be in next 10 years.

Now i know what i want to be and i already found a University in Kagawa, so the only problem is language.

I found a school in Kyoto School in Kyoto, HOME - Japanese Language School in Kyoto | NIHONGO CENTER : 日本語センター, and the feedback was good. So i was thinking maybe someone who is/were studying there and can share
some information about school?

Next is activities, soccer and tennis are sports that i play everyday, but in Japan the price for using tennis court for 1 hour is very expensive, so i have few questions:

1)Soccer: i want to find a amateur team, so that i can train at least 5 times a week for 2 hours, but i heard that they don't like to take Gaijins in there teams
is it true?

2)I read in internet that there are free tennis courts in Kyoto, does someone know where i can find them?

i wanted to ask about apartments, but nah maybe some other time.

Thank you

Last edited by Caspar : 06-18-2011 at 03:44 PM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

06-18-2011, 03:46 PM

Does Kagawa U. teach in English (the English part of their site has many dead links and little information)?

If not, are you prepared to spend the next 4+ years in intensive study to possibly pass the entrance exam?

I think these are the important questions before looking for cheap soccer and tennis facilities.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Caspar (Offline)
New to JF

06-18-2011, 04:33 PM

To MMM: