JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Liumingke (Offline)
New to JF

Send a message via Yahoo to Liumingke
Newbie Here - 03-28-2008, 06:27 PM

I've wanted to learn Japanese for a long time and would like some help. I'm a beginner but who like to make some language partner friends. Can anybody tell me what "mishi mishi" means in Japanese? No, not "moshi moshi" that's what you say on the phone. My wife seems to think it means "eat eat". I told her I never heard of that phrase. "Taberu" is to eat that I know. Thanks.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
anrakushi (Offline)
草上之风必偃

03-29-2008, 12:54 AM

hadn't heard this one before but checked the dictionary:
ミシミシ; みしみし (adv,adv-to,vs) creaking; groaning (e.g. of something under physical stress)
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Nagoyankee (Offline)
中庸を得るのだ~

03-29-2008, 01:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liumingke View Post
I've wanted to learn Japanese for a long time and would like some help. I'm a beginner but who like to make some language partner friends. Can anybody tell me what "mishi mishi" means in Japanese? No, not "moshi moshi" that's what you say on the phone. My wife seems to think it means "eat eat". I told her I never heard of that phrase. "Taberu" is to eat that I know. Thanks.
If your wife heard it in anime or drama where someone is starting on a meal, then it should be 'meshi meshi'. It means "eat eat" in a masculine speech as she guessed. The kanji (han zi) for 'meshi' is 飯.

But if it is indeed 'mishimishi' that was said, then it's the Japanese onomatopoeia meaning what anrakushi stated above.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
Liumingke (Offline)
New to JF

Send a message via Yahoo to Liumingke
03-29-2008, 02:54 AM

Thanks! I think it's "meshi,meshi" then. She's not the only one that has said "mishi mishi" erroneously. Now I can tell all her friends it's not "mishi mishi" it's (me)shi (me)shi.
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Christene (Offline)
New to JF

I was way out there.... - 02-17-2011, 02:54 AM